Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu

Permanent Does not Mean Forever

Until recently, a person convicted of four or more DUI’s in the State of Florida could not obtain a driver’s license ever again. Effective October 1, 2011, a revision to Florida Statute 322.271 took effect

Now, a person who had previously received a permanent revocation of their driving privileges can petition the DHSMV to reinstate his or her privilege to drive. The petition must take place at least five years after the person’s last conviction or five years from the last day of incarceration.

The process involves attending a hearing at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) where the person must demonstrate his or her qualification, fitness and need to drive. In so doing, the person must demonstrate to the hearing officer the following:

  1. Must not have any drug-related offenses for at least 5 years prior to the petition for the hearing.

  2. Has not driven for at least 5 years prior to the hearing.

  3. Has been drug-free for at least 5 years prior to the hearing.

  4. Has completed a DUI program licensed by the DHSMV.

The Criminal Defense Attorneys at the Madonna Law Group are available to evaluate the status of your driver’s license, prepare the petition to the DHSMV, and represent you at your hearing. Call (352) 567-0411 to speak with an attorney today.

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation