Florida DUI Repercussions
In the United States approximately one third of all traffic related deaths are associated with drunk driving. Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) have reported an increase in Florida drunk driving fatalities. Along with approximately 14 percent more fatalities than last year, the CDC reported that Florida exceeds the national average of adults being reported for driving after drinking too much. The rising number of drunk driving related deaths has led to the state taking a harsher stance against driving while impaired. Drivers who are arrested for drunk driving must understand Florida DUI repercussions in order to defend themselves properly against the charge.
Florida DUI Fines
The fines associated with a Florida DUI have increased over the years and can create a serious hardship for any individual living on a fixed income. Individuals convicted for their first DUI charge who have a Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) less than .15 are assessed a fine of no less than $500.00. If the BAL exceeds .15 the associated fine is no less than $1,000.00 and no more than $2,000.00. The fines assessed for repeat convictions are currently:
- Second Conviction with BAL less than .15- $1,000.00 to $2,000.00
- Second Conviction with BAL greater than .15- $2,000.00 to $4,000.00
- Third Conviction (within 10 years) less than .15- $2,000.00 to $5,000.00
- Third Conviction (within 10 years) greater than .15- $4,000.00 minimum
- Subsequent Convictions- $2,000.00 minimum
Florida DUI Jail Time
Florida law requires that individuals who are convicted of a DUI serve some form of imprisonment. Mandatory sentencing is designed to deter first time offenders from becoming repeat offenders, and the court may substitute time in jail with time spent in residential alcoholism abuse treatment center. Regardless of the facility type, individuals convicted for the first time of a DUI with a BAL that is less than .15 must not serve more than six months. When the BAL is greater than .15 the sentence must not exceed nine months. The imprisonment terms for repeat convictions are currently:
- Second Conviction with BAL less than .15- Nine-month maximum
- Second Conviction with BAL greater than .15- 12-month maximum
- Third Conviction (within 10 years) less than .15- Mandatory 30 days
- Third Conviction (within 10 years) greater than .15- 12-month maximum
- Subsequent Convictions- Five-years maximum
Additional Florida DUI Repercussions
Penalties for being convicted of a DUI in Florida do not stop at imprisonment and fines. Individuals who are found guilty receive license suspensions, have their vehicles impounded, and may not be eligible for hardship licenses. Without a driver’s license or vehicle adults might lose valuable income and risk permanently losing their job. Worse, if an individual is harmed or property is damaged a driver might find themselves charged with a misdemeanor or felony.
Contact an Attorney
If you or someone you love is arrested for a DUI, the Mander Law Group can help. Attorneys who have previously handled DUI cases in Florida are able to provide you with the assistance you need to fight the charges. Conveniently located in Dade City and Zephyrhills, DUI defense attorneys are able to provide a free consultation to discuss your personal needs. Call the Mander Law Group at 352-567-0411 (Dade City office) or 813-948-1422 (Zephyrhills office) today to schedule your appointment.