Florida Man Charged With Sexual Assault, Lewd And Lascivious Molestation
Sex is reserved for consenting adults, not children—especially not children of your girlfriend. A Florida man was recently arrested after it was discovered that he was sexually assaulting the daughter of his girlfriend.
The 48-year-old man is facing 14 counts of sexual assault as well as two counts of lewd and lascivious molestation after engaging in a sexual relationship with the girl, who is between 12 and 16 years old. He is currently in Broward Main Jail with no bond set.
The man allegedly sexually assaulted the girl multiple times in 2020 and 2021. The Coral Springs man lived with the girl’s mother for the past eight years. In fact, the girl considered the man to be her parent.
Surveillance video from a CVS in Coral Springs showed the man buying the girl a pregnancy test. While the girl was granted an emergency restraining order against the man in early August, authorities could not serve the order right away because the man’s whereabouts were unknown.
However, on August 12, police received a phone call about a burglary at the child’s home. The child and her mother were no longer living with the man. The man was wearing all black clothing and trying to break into the house.
The man was arrested at Castlewood Park. Police found him with a backpack containing burglary tools such as a black hat, mask, and crowbar.
What is Lewd or Lascivious Molestation?
Under Florida law, lewd or lascivious molestation involves touching a child in a lewd, sexual manner. This means touching the breasts, genitals, or buttocks, whether it be under or over the clothing. It can also mean coercing or enticing a child to sexually touch the perpetrator. There does not need to be any sexual activity involved.
The punishment depends on the ages of both parties. When both the victim and perpetrator are between 12 and 16 years old, the crime is a third-degree felony. This is punishable by five years in prison, five years of probation, and a $5,000 fine.
In cases where the child is between 12 and 16 years old, the crime is a second-degree felony. The punishment includes 15 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
When the victim is under the age of 12, it becomes a life felony. The punishment is just like it sounds—life in prison without parole or probation. On top of that, there is a $15,000 fine involved.
Seek Help for Your Criminal Defense Case
Sex crimes against children are taken seriously in Florida. Lewd and lascivious molestation is a criminal charge that can result in harsh prison sentences.
Even if you have no criminal record, you could spend several years in prison. Seek legal help from the Dade City & Zephyrhills lewd & lascivious behavior attorneys at Madonna Law Group. We can defend you anywhere in the state of Florida. Schedule a consultation today. Call (800) 557-0411 or fill out the online form.