Florida DUI Rates
Drinking and driving has always been a problem everywhere, even though motorists know better than to drive while intoxicated. In fact, it’s illegal. Every day, people in Florida and other states drive drunk. Many are arrested, while others cause serious accidents. In fact, nearly 30 people die from DUI crashes every day. It is estimated that more than 30% of people will be involved in a DUI crash in their lifetime.
But how does Florida rank when it comes to drunk driving arrests? Is it high on the list? Based on FBI crime reports, as well as data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the U.S. Department of Transportation, Florida actually ranks low on the list. This may be surprising to some, given that Florida saw a whopping 126 million tourists in 2018.
Florida was toward the bottom of the list, ranking 46th out of 50 states. In 2018, there were 151 DUI arrests per 100,000 people. Compare this to South Dakota, which ranked #1, with nearly 722 arrests per 100,000 people—almost five times the amount of Florida. Delaware ranked the lowest, at 44.3 arrests per 100,000 people.
Florida DUI Laws
A driver can be arrested for DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 or higher. While a DUI is considered a misdemeanor, for the most part, it’s no minor offense. A person convicted of a DUI can face a variety of penalties. For a first offense, a person can have their driver’s license suspended or revoked for at least six months. They will have to pay a fine of $500 to $1,000. In addition, alcohol education is mandatory. Vehicle confiscation and ignition interlock are also possible.
If your BAC was 0.15 or higher, or you had a child in the car with you, you will face aggravated DUI charges. The same applies if you caused an accident that led to serious injury or death while you were intoxicated.
Who is Getting Arrested for DUI?
Men are much more likely than women to get arrested for DUI, as they account for 75% of arrests. Whites are also more likely to get arrested than any other race. They accounted for more than 81% of arrests.
Many people don’t learn from their mistakes, as they continue to get arrested for DUI. One-third of DUI arrests involve repeat offenders. Amazingly, a person has, on average, driven drunk 80 times before getting arrested. Forty percent of motor vehicle fatalities involve alcohol.
Seek Help for Your DUI Case
A DUI is typically charged as a misdemeanor, but it can come with many penalties. Don’t ignore such charges. Protect yourself, your driver’s license and your future with the right legal help.
The Dade City & Zephyrhills DUI defense lawyers at Madonna Law Group can defend your legal rights, but don’t delay. Time is of the essence, as you have just 10 days to save your license. Call us right away at (800) 557-0411 to schedule a free consultation.