Florida Man Arrested for DUI Twice in Same Week
Drinking and driving is something that every motorist should avoid. Such an act has negative consequences on one’s driver’s license and life in general. Even a first-time offender could face fines, license loss and jail time. A second offense results in even harsher punishment – especially if the second DUI arrest happens in the same week.
This is what happened to a Florida man. The 23-year-old man was first arrested on April 22 when he got out of his vehicle and started a fight with another driver. When a police trooper arrived to break up the fight, he noticed the man was under the influence of alcohol. He was asked to perform field sobriety tests, on which he did poorly. His blood alcohol content (BAC) was twice the legal limit. He was arrested and booked into jail. He was later released.
The man, however, did not learn his lesson and drove while intoxicated once again on April 28. He was arrested after police received calls about a motorist driving into oncoming traffic and nearly hitting cars. When pulled over, the man admitted he was intoxicated. He even told police officers, “I’m sorry I shouldn’t be driving.” When he exited his vehicle, he nearly fell to the ground.
The man was taken to jail once again. He was released on a $500 bond. The public defender entered a not guilty plea on his behalf. This makes the third DUI for the man. He got his first one five years in California.
DUI offenses are taken seriously in Florida. Even a first offense can result in a fine of up to $1,000. For a third conviction, a person could face $5,000 in fines.
Jail time is also a possibility. A first-time offender could face six months in jail. For a third conviction in 10 years, jail time increases to up to five years. The same applies for a fourth or subsequent conviction, regardless of time period. This is also considered a felony.
A person’s driver’s license can also be revoked. The first time a person is convicted of a DUI, they could lose their license for 6-12 months. If they get a second conviction with five years, they could lose their license for five years. Three DUIs within 10 years could means 10 years without a license. Once a person gets a fourth DUI, they lose their license permanently.
A person convicted of a DUI can also face DUI school, community service and probation. In some cases, a person may be given more community service or probation in exchange for no jail time. Your lawyer can negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecutor.
Seek Help for Your DUI Charge
A DUI charge is a serious issue. If you get arrested twice for DUI in one week, you can expect to face even harsher charges.
Don’t fight these charges on your own. Get solid defense from the aggressive Dade City & Zephyrhills DUI defense attorneys at Madonna Law Group help. Our team will help reduce or eliminate your charges and get you the best outcome possible. To schedule a free consultation, contact our office at (800) 557-0411.